THE ART OF JENNIFER COLLIER

via Jennifer Collier
“I create innovative textiles and craft pieces using natural and found materials. Through methods of weaving, wraxing, trapping, embedding and stiching I create unusual materials, which are then developed into garments and accessories. I often utilise plastics, papers and fabrics into my pieces. The works have the power to communicate ideas about recycling, as well as themes exploring the body. My work is often inspired by literature. The work is non-functional and aims to encourage people to speculate on the nature of value. I enjoy the idea of working with disposable organic materials that are transient in nature, imbuing them with worh and creating something intriguing and of great beauty.”

Leave a Reply

