THE SKETCHBOOKS OF SAUL LEITER

I love what Saul Leiter says about painting in sketchbooks:
“I am very fond of my sketchbooks that I began in the 50s and still work on today. I think there is a certain freedom when you are absorbed in painting a sketchbook. You are not burdened to do something important. You are not dealing in big things. You are just thinking and the sketchbooks are a way to express your thinking. They are very intimate. I work on my sketchbooks almost every day. If I had to choose what I value the most in my work I might choose my sketchbooks. Here are two of my favorite sketchbooks. There are four here which are just covers titled, My Father and I. The other is Sketchbook #1 which I hope to publish as a book one day…”
Some of his sketchbooks will be on display at his show at the Deichtorhallen House of Photography, Hamburg in February 2012.
Via This Long Century. Discovered at the Reference Library.

2 thoughts on “THE SKETCHBOOKS OF SAUL LEITER

Leave a Reply

